Tuesday, October 22, 2013

IF YOU LIKE... A LIST FOR READING SCIENCE FICTION ROMANCE


I've done many workshops and interviews about Science Fiction Romance (SFR), and I'm often asked what to read in the genre. As part of a multi-blog tour, I've compiled just a few helpful comparisons.

If you like Jacquelyn Frank's SEDUCE ME IN DREAMS (THREE WORLDSSERIES), read Heidi Ruby Miller's GREENSHIFT (AMBASADORA SERIES)
Similarities: military science fiction, spicy romance, virgin female, expansive world, alpha male, thriller elements


 If you like Sara Creasy's SONG OF SCARABEUS, read K. Ceres Wright's COG
Similarities: cyberpunk, corporate espionage, strong female characters, subtle romance, thriller style




If you like Jenna Bennett's FORTUNE'S HERO, read Patti O'Shea's RAVYN'S FLIGHT
Similarities: military science fiction, action sequences, alpha male, rescue mission, expansive world


If you like Joel Shepherd's KILLSWITCH, read Cary Caffrey's THE GIRLS FROM ALCYONE
Similarities: cybernetically-enhanced heroine, futuristic world, strong female protagonist, action sequences, love story, cyberpunk


 
If you like Weston Ochse's VELVET DOGMA, read T. K. Toppin's THELANCASTER RULE
Similarities: heroine-centric, sleeping beauty awakens in future, high tech society, action sequences


If you like P.G. Forte's THIS WINTER HEART, read Heather Massey's THEWATCHMAKER'S LADY
Similarities: automaton heroine, secret lover, forbidden romance, "what does it mean to be human" theme, American historical setting


If you like Catherine Asaro's DIAMOND STAR (SAGA OF THE SKOLIAN EMPIRE), read JC Cassels's SOVRAN'S PAWN (THE BLACK WING CHRONICLES)
Similarities: celebrity hero, subtle romance, expansive world, political intrigue, galactic empire




If you like Sharon Shinn's HEART OF GOLD, read Pippa Jay's KEIR
Similarities: taboo romance, inter-racial relationship, advanced society, anthropological world building




4 comments:

  1. Thanks for the mention, now I'll have to read Heart of Gold!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was the first SFR I ever read. A friend recommended it when we were in grad school (I later write a paper on it.), and a whole new world opened up to me. ;)

      Delete
  2. This is a great list. I'll have to check them out. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've gotten so many great recommendations from this tour. Glad I could spread the word on some, PK!

      Delete